School of Dental Medicine



Dr. Carol F. Anderson is named 2017 Woman of the Year by the National Association of University Women (NAUW) Elizabeth City Branch.

Dr. Carol F. Anderson, faculty director of the ECU School of Dental Medicine Community Service Learning Center-Elizabeth City, was honored recently with the title 2017 Woman of the Year at a banquet hosted by the National Association of University Women (NAUW) Elizabeth City Branch. Dr. Anderson directs ECU’s dental center in Elizabeth City, N.C., where fourth-year students and residents gain

Read More


Schweitzer Fellows foster partnerships to meet the needs of the underserved

Ten ECU graduate students will spend the next year making health care more accessible to populations that are often overlooked.      The students — five from the School of Dental Medicine and five from the Brody School of Medicine — have been named North Carolina Albert Schweitzer Fellows for the 2017-2018 academic year. They represent nearly half of this year’s

Read More

Akeadra Bell

BREAKING BARRIERS – Interprofessional event brings health sciences students together

At first glance, it looks like a singles speed-dating event in a reception room in the new ECU Health Sciences Student Center. You hear “Where are you from?” and “Why did you get into medicine?” But listen closer and you find out the event is focused on future health care workers working together. “Too often educationally and in practice, we

Read More

Mary Bec Keith

Mary Bec Keith ’18 receives Pierre Fauchard Academy Foundation Scholarship

Mary Bec Keith, fourth-year student at the East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine, has received a 2017 Pierre Fauchard Academy Foundation Dental Student Scholarship. Ms. Keith, originally from Kinston, N.C., is a Fellow of the Blue Cross Blue Shield Foundation of North Carolina Albert Schweitzer Program. In 2015, she and a classmate completed a project as Schweitzer Fellows that

Read More


Student Research Group announces new officers

The School of Dental Medicine’s Student Research Group (SRG) has elected officers for the 2017-2018 academic year. Officers include Maria Isabel Rego, president; Caitlin Mehaffey, vice president; Luke Current, treasurer; and Jessica Shamberger, secretary. V. Wallace McCarlie, DMD, PhD, clinical assistant professor in the Division of Orthodontics, serves as SRG advisor. The Student Research Group is an organization dedicated to

Read More

Quick Links
  • There are no upcoming events